October 10, 2001

  • Monday and Tuesday night stayed safe and dry. Monday was a scare: some rain and thunder in the middle of the afternoon. The sidewalk was damp, and so were some of the mats. Everyone was given an individual tarp to cover themselves with, and the group had voted that if it really rained we would go into the plaza, crossing the tape barricade, and risking arrest. I stayed until after midnight, using the time to work with Michele on a Real Change story about the sleepout. When it hadn't rained by then the alert was called off and I went home. Tuesday night was completely dry.

    But today it has been raining all day, the misty rain of the Pacific Northwest that seems so light and seeps into everything. If it doesn't stop, or if it gets harder tonight...

    The King County Admin Winter Response Shelter is definitely opening on the 15th, under the management of the Salvation Army. The sleepout is to keep everyone safe until then. But we can't let homeless people huddle on the sidewalk, getting drenched in rain or in the steamy damp under a tarp, when at least partial shelter is only a few steps away.

    There is a chance that King County will hold off calling the police if we just enter the Plaza for shelter during the rain.

    This afternoon I am working with folks from WHEEL to send letters to the City Council asking for funds to open our women's severe weather shelter, then several of us will go to the city budget hearings. Tonight I may have time to drop of a howdy at the Poetry Slam for the birthday party of Alison Durazzi, MC for four years and turning it over to a new MC tonight. Sometime today I need to write up material for a reading tomorrow night on "The Writer's Role in Society" and turn it over to one of my companion writers to read for me if I'm not there, and make sure Kevin can finish the Out of the Margins broadside without me.

    Can't we all just get along?



    With all this going on, I took the time in the last two days to open two new logs: Muller, for my longer and more contemplative blogs, and AmusedMuse, to give my mentor Thalia closer access to jostle my elbow and make me lighten up.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories