August 20, 2001

  • Bullying Online, a resource website from Great Britain. I learned of this website from an article at WrittenByMe, I Am The Person You Bullied At School. The title is taken from a poem on the site.

    Even after Columbine, after news specials on the high rates of teen suicides, although we have some official programs focusing on prevention of bullying most people don't seem to take it as a serious problem. When children and young people turn violent, most talk is about the influences of TV and video games. In the meantime, small children are learning that it's okay to beat each other up, no adult will stop them. If you deplore violence in the headlines, then take responsibility for stepping up and intervening when it's happening in your neighborhood.

    I hope this website helps.

Comments (3)

  • How true. You see it everyday, that society is deteriorating around us. Parents no longer have the right to discipline their children and kids are left to run wild in the street. Tv and other mediums encourage this behavior, but in the end it is the parents who should be monitoring what they watch, and listen too. Also who their friends are. A caring parent is an attentive one.

  • Glad you posted this. The article was well worth reading. I managed to avoid most bullying by pretty much becoming a turtle--I kept myself to myself, my head tucked into my shell. It's a hell of a way to live. It was only one of the reasons I hated school.

  • good article!! Thank you!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories