July 21, 2001

  • Note to self: Do not include paragraph and break html in Xanga logs.

    Written yesterday:


    Why Hope?

    Jello died at twenty-seven,
    homeless, Independence Day in the City of Angels,
    died of the damage of escaping one more time.
    Too Short died on Greyhound,
    coming back from her man in the City of Angels,
    died of the damage from reconciling one more time.
    Chrissy died in hospital,
    here in Seattle,
    of the cancer, one too many years out on the street.

    Why do I hope?

    Because Barbie’s attempted suicide failed,
    and she called me.
    Because Melissa comes in to write about her anger,
    instead of hiding in it.
    Because Sean is working,
    and Kevin has a place to stay.

    I came to the wrong planet to find perfection.

    I came to the right planet to find work.



    The first feedback I got was from Melissa, who loved it. The next feedback was from two people who feel that the last two lines sound like delusions of grandeur. I guess the joke, “If we wanted perfection we sure came to the wrong planet, huh?” doesn’t work “on paper” — at least not among people who don’t know me personally.


Comments (3)

  • jello died at 27?  i do not get it.  Well anyway please come give me your 2ยข about which smurf to use as my background pic

  • Charles Anthony “Jello” Kueck had been homeless since fifteen, most of the last five years in Seattle.

  • The last two lines worked for me. I just discovered your log. Very beautiful and moving.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *